CONA $2.52
0.00 (0.00%)
As of 9:42 EST on Apr 19, 2018

Delayed by 20 minutes

About Us

Board of Directors

Adam Waterous(1, 2, 3) – Chairman

Adam Waterous is the Managing Partner and Chief Executive Officer of Waterous Energy Fund. Mr. Waterous most recently served as Global Head of Investment Banking and Head of Energy and Power, North America at Scotiabank, where he was responsible for all of Scotiabank’s global equity and advisory activities and Scotia Waterous. Mr. Waterous joined Waterous & Co., a predecessor firm to Scotia Waterous, in September 1991 where he was a founder and a member of the firm's Executive Committee. Scotia Capital acquired Waterous & Co. in 2005. Prior thereto, Mr. Waterous held positions at BCE Development, First Boston Corporation and McKinsey & Company.

Mr. Waterous serves on the board of directors of various private companies.

Rob Morgan

Rob Morgan has more than 30 years of experience in the oil and gas industry with a focus on heavy oil and has been President & CEO of Cona since October 2017. Prior to joining Cona, Mr. Morgan served as Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Crew Energy Inc. Prior thereto, he was Vice President Engineering and Chief Operating Officer at Harvest Operations Corporation and Vice President Operations and Corporate Development at Viking Energy Trust. He held senior management positions at Canadian Natural Resources Ltd., Petrovera Resources Ltd., PanCanadian Petroleum Limited and CS Resources Ltd and was an engineer at Murphy Oil Company Ltd. Mr. Morgan received a Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering from the University of Saskatchewan. He is a Professional Engineer in the province of Alberta.

Ian Bruce(1, 2, 3)

Ian Bruce has more than 30 years of investment banking and financing experience related to the energy industry. Mr. Bruce was Co-Chairman of Peters & Co. Limited from 2010 until his retirement in 2011. Prior thereto, he was President and Chief Executive Officer from 2002 to 2010 and Vice Chairman from 1998 to 2002 of Peters & Co. Limited. Mr. Bruce was past Chairman and Director of the Investment Industry Association of Canada; a past member on the Expert Panel on Canadian Securities Regulation; and past Chairman, Alberta Children’s Hospital Foundation. He is a Chartered Accountant and Chartered Business Valuator.

Mr. Bruce also serves on the board of directors of Cameco Corporation and three private companies.

Harold (Hal) Kvisle(2)

Harold (Hal) Kvisle was the Chief Executive Officer of Talisman Energy Inc. (“Talisman”) and the former Chief Executive Officer of TransCanada Corporation (“TransCanada”). He has more than 40 years of experience in the energy sector, including exploration, development, production, pipelines and power generation. Mr. Kvisle joined Talisman in 2012 after serving as TransCanada’s Chief Executive Officer from 2001 until his retirement in 2010. Prior thereto, Mr. Kvisle held engineering, finance and management positions with Fletcher Challenge Energy and Dome Petroleum Limited. Mr. Kvisle previously served as a director of Bank of Montreal, TransCanada and PrimeWest Energy Inc., and chaired the Board of Governors of Mount Royal University and the Board of the Interstate Natural Gas Association of America.

Mr. Kvisle also serves as the board chair of ARC Resources Ltd.

Hon. Stockwell Day(1, 3)

Hon. Stockwell Day, Queen’s Privy Council for Canada, is Principal for his consulting business, Stockwell Day Connex, and is a Senior Strategic Advisor to McMillan LLP. He served at the provincial and federal levels of government for over 25 years. From 2000 to 2011, Mr. Day served as a Member of Parliament with the federal government, holding various positions including Leader of Canada’s Official Opposition, Minister of Public Safety, Minister of International Trade, Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, senior Minister responsible for British Columbia and President of the Treasury Board. From 1986 to 2000, Mr. Day served with the Alberta government in a variety of roles, including Treasurer (Minister of Finance) and Acting Premier. Mr. Day is a Distinguished Fellow of the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada and a Certified Member of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Mr. Day also serves on the board of directors of Telus Corporation, WesternOne Inc., and Baylin Technologies Inc. and a number of not-for-profit and private companies.


Board Committees

1. Audit Committee. Ian Bruce acts as Chair.
2. Technical Committee. Harold (Hal) Kvisle acts as Chair.
3. Corporate Governance and Compensation Committee. Stockwell Day acts as Chair. 


Board Governance Documents

Board Mandate
Audit Committee Mandate
Technical Committee Mandate
Corporate Governance and Compensation Committee Mandate
Position Description of the Chairman of the Board
Majority Vote Policy